What are Tripiṭaka or Tipiṭaka

Buddha Teachings Satipatthana Sutta
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Subodh Gupta

What is Tripiṭaka also known as the Tipiṭaka?

The Tripiṭaka (also known as the Tipiṭaka) is a collection of Buddha’s teachings or one can say Buddhist scriptures that form the basis of the teachings of Theravada Buddhism.

The word “Tripiṭaka” means “three baskets,” and the collection is divided into three main sections: the Sutta Piṭaka, the Vinaya Piṭaka, and the Abhidhamma Piṭaka.

The Sutta Piṭaka is a collection of discourses attributed to the Buddha and his chief disciples. It contains teachings on the Four Noble Truths, the Eightfold Path, and other central teachings of Buddhism.

The Vinaya Piṭaka is made up of rules of discipline laid down for regulating the conduct of the Buddha’s disciples who have been admitted into the order as bhikkhus (monks) and bhikkhunis (nuns). For householders, the rules were only 5 but for monks, the list was more than 200.

The Abhidhamma Piṭaka is a collection of texts that provides a systematic and detailed explanation of the teachings of the Sutta Piṭaka. It includes analyses of the nature of reality, the nature of the mind, and the process of spiritual development.

The Tripiṭaka is considered to be the most authoritative collection of Buddhist scriptures and is widely studied and revered within the Theravada tradition.

Buddha: What is real knowledge or wisdom Buddha’s Teaching & Stories in English #buddhism